Rainy day blues

” I still have a photo on my wall of the greatest idol I will ever have in my life, and it’s myself at eight. Because that’s when the forces of imagination have the same value as the real world, when they’re an instrument of survival: when my mother disappeared, and I imagined a mother. That was me at my best. ” – Henning Mankell

Henning Mankel was a Swedish crime writer who passed this weekd. Actually, I didn’t know about his work until now, but I ame accros this quote and loved it instantly.
There was once an eight year old girl who wanted to be a surgeon and a teacher and a painter and a dancer. She loved superheroes and wanted to save the world. She believed in magic and that she could become anything she wanted. On days like today, when it’s raining the whole animal kingdom, and it’s hard to make myself get out bed, when I lose motivation and doubt myself, I think back of her. People say “before you give up think about who’s watching”, usually about their children, but what if that child watching was your eight year old self. Maybe we shouldn’t lose the childish hope that the world can only get better and that we can make it that way. Can you still imagine a reality for yourself and believe you can achieve anything? If your eight year old self be proud of you?

6 thoughts on “Rainy day blues

  1. honestme363 says:

    Actually I can imagine it. It really is only myself that stands in the way. And my eight year old self? She is still a part of me. She comes out to play when I play with my daughter. We splash in puddles and play in mud and live a carefree existence even for a brief period of time. It is priceless and something that I had forgotten to do until my daughter came around. Great post, made me think a lot and reminisce.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jenn says:

    I hope my eight year old self would be proud of me. I’m still writing and creative, I play outside on regular occasions, sometimes in the rain, I’m kind to animals and children, sometimes preferring them to adults, and I still understand the importance of chocolate.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

